Wrong time.

hopper5   I still don’t know why. It was supposed to be perfect, but it did not. I was on time, she wasn’t. I carefully choose this bar because I knew she was from Philadelphia. All day long, I was thinking about this night, this lady. She made me crazy on the telephone, her voice was a delight. I couldn’t wait to see her smile, her dress, smell her perfume and hear her voice again. I went to the hair-dresser, I bought a new suit, I put all my effort to make this night unforgettable. However, nothing happen like it should have.

Let me explain to you my story. My name is Dan Ashworth, and I’m having an affair. I made all of this to meet a friend’s cousin. She was georgeous in her dress, with her curly blond hair, I’ve never seen a girl like this before. We talk for a while, she was smart, really smart but, she was also funny and smiling at me at any time. I’ve never felt like this before. As the night was going on, I started to feel in love. But I should have stopped before, before my wife came in.

This women on my left? Still my wife, I guess. It has been ages that we are together, out of habit I have to admit. But these times are over, and we both know it. We are now just sitting at this bar together, wondering what has happened, also thinking of our mistakes and past by staring deeply at our empty glasses.

Finally I wish I was this guy, this “night hawk”, sitting there seeming having no trouble. He could have the same story as mine, but no one came to him. Maybe he is still waiting for his girl to come. Since his girls don’t come at once, it will work.

5 thoughts on “Wrong time.

Leave a comment